Powerful Portraits

I am now of the opinion that beauty is actually something beyond symmetry, wide-eyes and white teeth. Another visual realm exists. It could all be nonsense, but I think that our inner being projects itself upon our outer shells.

“Afghan Girl”, 1984. Steve McCurry

I used to paint portraits everyday and I remember vigorously searching for faces that absolutely sucked me into the moment of viewing. I think that sometimes looking at a face can actually make us very conscious, almost to the extent of meditating over the lines of struggle etched on a subject’s face; or the depth of soul held in their eyes.

Art captures and accesses the knowledge that we have of our world that is not expressed in dominant forms of communication.  It expresses the strong metaphysical field which surrounds us. Of all the things we understand intuitively, but rarely express.

I became obsessed Irving Penn at school. His chiaroscuro photographs of thinkers such as Pablo Picasso, Truman Capote and WH Auden are hugely atmospheric. Even long after Penn’s subjects died, you can still sit in the moment they were sat before the camera. I particularly love the photograph of Capote:

“Truman Capote”, by Irving Penn

 

“Face of a Distressed Woman”, unknown photographer.

One image that really left a mark on me recently was a photograph of a Bangladeshi woman. I stumbled across it through a link, it reminded me of some of the exhausted faces that were typical of the poverty in India. I think that actually seeing vivid images of people and places can really motivate us in our own ways. Here is a little quote for the day:

“It is one thing to photograph people. It is another to make others care about them by revealing the core of their humanness.” Paul Strand

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Powerful Portraits

  1. Play Games says:

    I am often to blogging and i really appreciate your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new information.

  2. cars says:

    I like this web blog so much, saved to fav. “American soldiers must be turned into lambs and eating them is tolerated.” by Muammar Qaddafi.

  3. news says:

    Only wanna comment that you have a very decent website , I like the design and style it actually stands out.

  4. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again right here frequently. I’m quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  5. kernhaus says:

    Merely a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw great style .

  6. Wow, incredible blog layout! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog for? you make blogging glance easy. The whole look of your web site is excellent, let alone the content material!

  7. Good blog you have got here.. It’s difficult to find good quality writing like yours nowadays. I truly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  8. You are my aspiration, I possess few web logs and rarely run out from brand . “No opera plot can be sensible, for people do not sing when they are feeling sensible.” by W. H. Auden.

Leave a Reply

